You are currently viewing Time Trial 2019

Time Trial 2019

So a gloomy September morning dawned on the day of the BCC TT around Mentmore, one of the clubs well used ride routes, heavy drizzle and standing water was set to greet the 62 brave souls signed up for the annual 10 mile dash, honours and bragging rights at stake.

Just as the cohort of hardy BCC volunteers started to arrive along with the riders the weather brightened, and we could swear blue sky was appearing. A number of riders cited ‘illness’ or an aversion to water so the field finally whittled itself down to around 45 riders departing with guinea pig, endurance junkie and chairman Mike Plowman starting off the affair, with the rest of the field chasing his yellow peril TT bike, a small ray of dwindling brightness up Mentmore Hill in the grey.

Apart from small spill by Simon Pearce by the duck pond who still managed a very creditable 5th overall despite the bumps and road rash the race was uneventful and duly won overall by Nick Clarke in a time of 22:08 at an average of 27 mph or 43.4 kph. For the women Sam Fawcett came home in a time of 25:13, an average of 23.8 mph or 38.3 kph and an 11th overall. (Provisional results).

Winners of the best 3 riders home in a team went to old friends Ashmei Musette Men and Lovelo Squadra Donne Women.

Very positive feedback from all and the HQ at Tracy’s Café put on some fine refreshments. Huge thanks to all the volunteers, marshals and timekeepers.

For more photos of the day on Flickr click here (free to download).

Full results on Cycling Time Trials here.

Nick Clarke Winner Male Open
John Lacey Winner Male Vet
Hary Kirby Winner Male Juniors
Lee Harrison First Male Road Bike
Samantha Fawcett Winner Female Open
Sophie Lewis First Female Junior
Debbie Honour Winner Female Vet
Melinda Atkinson First Female Road Bike
Millie Carey Winner Female Juvenile
Ashmei Musette Race Team Winners Men’s Team
Lovelo Squadra Donne Winners Women’s Team

And last but not least…

Jez Kidd Winner Best Bobble Hat with (L to R) Paul (Organiser) and Mike (Chairman)